There are many people worldwide who have some degree of lactose intolerance. For some, the symptoms may be as mild as minor bloating and a little extra gas. For others, consuming dairy may result in more severe gastric distress or for those who have a true allergy, anaphylaxis can occur. Avoiding dairy products may seem simple, but there are a few places you may find dairy that would surprise you.
It sounds crazy, right? Most of the time, chewing gum is safe for lactose intolerant people, but there is one ingredient that could have a significant effect on those with a lactose allergy. Recaldent is an additive that is derived from milk and is used by some brands of chewing gum to strengthen teeth’s enamel with calcium and phosphate. If you’re not sure, check with your doctor or dentist before using a new product for the first time.
Processed meats are a food that should be a limited part of anyone’s diet. Fillers in certain types of processed meats (hot dogs and deli meat) may include whey, made from milk protein and lactose. An additional risk is meat that is cut on the same slicer as deli cheeses. Be cautious if you have issues with lactose intolerance or milk allergies.
If you’re a social or recreational drinker, you might want to think twice before reaching for a new beer or wine that you’ve never had before. Sometimes, milk and its derivatives are used in the process of making such beverages. Vegan alcoholic beverages will always be free of dairy and its derivatives.
For the most part, avoiding dairy foods like milk, yogurt, cheese, and ice cream will take care of most of your lactose intolerance symptoms. To stay symptom-free always check the ingredients label before purchasing a new food to avoid any unpleasant surprises.
Not sure if you are lactose intolerant? Check out the Symptoms of Lactose Intolerance to learn more. The specialists at Granite Peaks Gastroenterology can help you pinpoint the cause of your digestive health symptoms and help you make choices to keep you feeling your best.